Claim: An piece of information referred to as a fact should be mistrusted, since it may well be proven false in the future.

Reason: Much of the information that people assume is factual turns out to be inaccurate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Everyday, especially in the present times, we are bombarded with myriad amout of information. It would be a humungous task for one to validate the accuracy of the information without anyone's help. The claim in the prompt suggests that any piece of information referred to as fact should be viewed with skipticism because much of the information assumed factual turns out to be inaccurate. However, I disagree with the reason provided in the prompt and feel that it is not the case in the present times.

Firstly, I would like to expound upon the cases in which the reason given in the prompt is applicable. In the ancient times, people thought the earth was flat. Given the knowledge and the capabilities of the humans during those times, it was obvious for everyone to assume the earth was flat as they could not mistrust their eyes. In similar fashion, people aslo thought the sun revolves around the earth and earth was the center of the solar system. The pieces of information were considered as facts and anyone who promulgated otherwise were immediatly banish from the society. However, eventually these facts were proved to be wrong and people amended their views once they understood the ratiocination in arriving at the truth. These a few examples among many such similar accounts. Given such experiences in the past, one would be tempted to conclude that every fact should be treated with cynicism. However, is the reason given in the prompt applicable in the present times too? The answer is no.

We have come a long way both interms of our intellectual capabilities as well as technological advancements since we started inhabitating this planet. Any piece of information that we discover or come across is first conscientiously scrutinized with help of methodologies that are immune to errors by a group of qualified poeple and only then the information is presented as a fact to the common people. Given the level of validation that any information goes through the present times, it would be fatuous of one to look at every piece of information with doubt. The instances were a certain fact is redressed in the wake of new evidence or realization of an error in the methodologies do occur sometimes but it is more rare than often. Therefore, in the present timees, where any information is first ratified by sound methodologies and astute personnel, it seems gratuitous to conclude that every fact should be viewed with doubt

To recapitulate, the reason mentioned in the prompt does not hold true in the present times as every piece of information is throughty scrutinized and only then is dissemilated among the population.