Claim: We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from those
whose views contradict our own.
Reason: Disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning.
Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the
claim and the reason on which that claim is based.
The author argues that people learn much more from like minded people than they do with whom they contradict their views.
The author states that disagreement can cause stress and thus inhibit learning as a reason. However, I think
poeple get to learn more from people who contradict their views than otherwise.
First, it is when our knowledge is opposed by others, only then we will be able to introspect our understanding.
It is with these encounters that people generally ponder on the validity of their knowledge. When a person's knowledge
is called into question, the person can have an healthy debate and thus learn from the opposite person if s/he feels
that they are actually wrong. Even if the person is correct, the argument will encourage the person to think
in new ways so as to convince the listener that s/he is wrong. This process of contemplating will actually help
the person to gain a better understanding of the subject.
Second, though on first encounter with dissenter creates a stress and inhibits learning, but as the time passes and one starts to
comtemplate on the subject, the analytical thinking of the person imporves. If we try to learn from someone who shares similar
views, one doesn't have to think over in order to accept what is being told. One stays in their comfort zone
and blindly accepts them without any reasoning. On the other hand, the listener is forced to come out of their comfort zone
and put his/her brain to work to analyze the arguments that someone puts infront of them. This way, we are not only learning
but also training our brain to analyze the future arguments more analytically.
Third, when people are involed in a debate, people feel more intimate than when one have discussion with a like minded person.
People with opposite views, though appear amicable to the outside world, actually defer each other. Each one will be eagerly
waiting for a debate as they love the process of discussion which involves patiently listening, analyzing, counter questioning etc.
Having said that, arguing with one whose views are contrary to ours can prove to be determintal sometimes. If we have to
work with such a person to get a project done, most of the time would get wasted resolving these conflicts. There can be
cases where we are sure that the person is wrong and if the person also believes the same, then the there is no way the
project can move forward. In this scenario, the author's claim that disagreement could cause stress and inhibit learning
definetly holds true.
Thus, one can learn from a person with contrary views more than from a person of similar views because it stimulates introspecting
one's own knowledge, develops analytical thinking and can help develop a healthy relationship in which one respects the other.