A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Different countries have different forms of education systems. While some countries mandate that all the students of the nation study a common national curriculum, other countries provide leniency for their states to adopt their own curriculum for the students. The prompt suggests that a nation should make it mandatory for its students to study the same national curriculum until they reach college. I agree with the prompt and feel that making the students across a nation study the same curriculum during their initial phase of education would be more beneficial than otherwise for the following reasons.

Firstly, following a common nation-wide curriculum ensures consistency in the knowledge that the students gain during schooling. This consistency in the knowledge can play a vital role in the lives of the students as they embark for their higher studies. Let me expound on what I mean exactly. College is a place where students from different parts of a country come together to study. And in college, it is not only the way the professors teach that shapes the future of the students but also how students collaborate with each other to aggrandize their learning experience and make best out of their collaboration. Students who have studied the same curriculum in the school can easily match each others thought process and this parity in the thought process will aid for them to have collaborations. They will be on the go right from the beginning and such collaborations can make their college experience fruitful as well as enjoyable. Who knows, they even may be on to the next big thing in the world. Thus, a common national curriculum can help foster better collaborations in the college that otherwise would not have been possible.

Secondly, a common national curriculum ensures that there is no regional biasness introduced into the curriculum. For example, let us take the case of India. If states are given latitude in forming their own curriculum, they might inculcate some fallacious ideas into their curriculum to make the students feel proud about their own state. Such discrepencies in curriculums across a nation can hinder the feeling of unity among the students eventually leading to the destruction of integrity of a nation. Thus, a common national curriculum proves to be beneficial to a nation.

However, having a common national curriculum entails the curriculum be as comprehensive as possible. When there is great diversity in the nation, like in India, there is a possibility that the curriculum becomes diluted and does not provide details into the specifics of each state, say in the subject of History. In such case, the states should come up with optional additional study material for their states only after being scrutinized by the national authorities.

To recapitulate, necessitating the students study a common national curriculum in the school helps to mantain consistency of knowledge of the students which can aid better collaborations in the college and prevents incidence of any regional biasness. However, to compensate for the dilution that may take place in a common national curriculum, the states can provide optional additional material only after validation by the national authorities.