Question: People attend college or university for many different reasons (for example, new experiences, career preparation, increased knowledge). Why do you think people attend college or university? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Yes, people attend college for various reasons. Each of them can have their own set of expectations from a college. While some of them have only reason to attend college, that is, to gain knowledge, others can have more than one reason to attend a college.

To begin with, some people attend college in order gain knowledge and subsequently, secure a good career. College is a place to study different subjects and become proficient in them. It provides myriad resources and facilities for the students to use them so that they become highly intellectual persons within very short period of time. Colleges host highly qualified professors, very resourceful libraries and state of the art laboratories so that the students gain expertise in their field of interests. Upon becoming a sage in their field, they will have great demand in the market which can land them a good and satisfying job.

Secondly, besides providing academic support for the students, colleges also provide not so obvious perks or experiences that would attract some students. As the saying goes, one's college life is not defined by what he learns in the college but by the experiences he will have in the college. College is a place where people from different backgrounds and different cultures coalesce. In other words, colleges can be defined as places of high concentration diversity. As a result, for people who are always on the look out for exploring different cultures and understanding different people, colleges can be very alluring for them to get in.

Last but not the least, human beings are basically social animals. We love spending time with others, sharing happiness and sufferings with them. We find joy in taking care of others and enjoy having discussions about trivial as well as pressing issues. Colleges provide a great opportunity to interact with others and is more often than not that people get along with each other really well. This is because people in colleges have similar ages and consequently, similar thought process and mindset. Therefore, some people choose to attend a college to make new friends and have fun while learning at the same time.

To sum it all, people can have any of the above stated reasons to attend college. Or, it would seem fairer to say that people attend college because of all the reasons mentioned above.