The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Every society chooses its role models so that they have a guiding light not only for the present generation but also for their filals. Now, a question arises - Is it sufficient to examine the character of the role models that a society chooses to understand the character of that society? I personally feel that the answer is no for the following reasons.

Firstly, role models or heroes in a society are very less in number. They represent infinitismally small fraction of the entire population of a society and hence, they need not necessarly represent the entire population. On the other hand, a society mostly comprises of common people who work everyday single day to earn their bread and butter. Given the disparity in the kind of livestyle that the role models and remaining society lives, it more often than not that the characters of the heros is different from the larger society. Moreover, the people of a society might only pine to posses the virtues of their role models whilst they do not actually pracitce the demeanor of their role models. There could be many reasons why their role models are able to posses a character they are venerated for. It could be because they are providential or they had the means for a more structured and formal upbringing etc. However, it need no be the case with every other person in the society and thus, they may not be having the same character. Thus, it is evident that the roles models of a society need not necessarly represent the characteristics of the society they belong to.

Secondly, the character of a society comprises of not just the people of a society but also its culture, socio-economic status, religion, etc and there can be a lot of diversity in each of the factors. For instance, let us take the example of India. India is a country that has a very high diversity in its society. While there is South India which celebrates Onam and Ganesh Chaturti as its major festivals, there is North India that celebrates Diwali as its major festivals. In such diverse society, it is practically impossible for the role models who are very less in number to represent or possess all the diversity present in the society. Thus, it is required to not just examine the role models but the larger population as well get a comprehensive outlook of societies that have a vast diversity such as India.

However, in the realms of our discussion, there might be an exception that cannot be overlooked. There might be very small societies in which there is no much variation in their cultures or their lifestyles. One can find such societies in remote islands. In such cases, one can actually understand the character of the society by just exmaining the character of their role models rather than studying the larger population. It is because people in such islands are not exposed to outside world and their cultures and character stays in pristine mode.

Thus, to understand the character of a society, on needs to study a larger population of the society rather than going by only its role models for they need not necessarly represent the larger population and they cannot encompass all the diversity present in the society in them.