Several recent studies have shown a link between health and stair usage. One recently completed study shows that people who live in stairs-only apartment buildings (that is, buildings without elevators) live an average of three years longer than do people who live in buildings with both elevators and stairs. A second study shows that elderly residents of buildings with elevators make, on average, twice as many visits to doctors each year as do residents of buildings without elevators. Furthermore, several doctor's offices are reporting that residents of stairs-only buildings scored higher than average on questionnaires administered to new patients, in which the patients were asked to rate several aspects of their own health (e.g., fitness, sleep quality, susceptibility to injury, etc.). The clearest explanation for these findings is that the moderate daily exercise required of residents who must use the stairs instead of elevators increases people's health and longevity.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author asserts that people who live in stairs-only apartments lead a healthy lifestyle than those who live in buildings with both elevators and stairs. To support his conclusion, the author cites findings from a couple of studies that are in favor of the conclusions. Though convincing at first glance, upon further contemplation, one would easily come up alternate explanation that would refute the author's point of argument.

To begin with, the author fallaciously assumes that the people who live in buildings with both elevators and stairs do not use stairs at all. Futhermore, he assumes that these people do not perform no more any other physical exercise than the people who live in stairs-only apartments. However, these assumptions are a facial; inasmuch as the author does not provide any other detials about the lifestyle of the two groups of people under consideration. It need not be the case that people in buildings with both stairs and elevators use only the elevators. With widespread knowledge of the benefits of physical activity on health, there can be people who prefer to use stairs over elevators. Moreover, it is also very likely that people engage in some form of physical exercise not only to keep their mind and body healthy but also to have fun and socialize with the surrounding community. If either of the alternate explanations hold merit, then the author's conclusion is immature and dubious.

Secondly, the author claims that people living in buildings with both stairs and elevators visit twice as much as the people living in stairs-only builings. The author blatantly attributes this trend to the physical activity that one would have in using stairs. However, what if the people in the buildings with both stairs and elevators are more wealthy than those living in stairs-only apartments? The affluent dwellers of buildings with both stairs and elevators can afford to make frequent visits to doctors and hence, it is verly likely that due to this reason, their rate of visiting doctors is twice as compared to the others under consideration. Therefore, the author's claim that people living in stairs-only buildings make less visits to the doctors as compared others under consideratoin will not hold true if the above explanation is true.

Finally, the author aurgues that the people dwelling in stairs-only apartment tend to rate themselves better than the average on a questionarre that asks to rate several aspects of their health. The very procedure for asking them to rate themselves outrageously suggests that the results reflect the own perspective of the repondants and are not backed by a scientific study or laboratory test. It could very well be that case that the poeple living stairs-only buildings tend to rate themselver higher than their actaul state of health inadvertently. Or, the quetionarrie was give to less number of people living in stairs-only buildings and those vert few people rated themselves high. Hence, one can argue that there is a possibility for people living in stairs-only buildings have higher than average scores as they are rating themselves based on their knowledge and not based on any thorough examination by an expert.

All in all, we can see that there are alternate explanations for the finding that the author prematurely proponents and the arugment, as it stands, is unpersuasive as long as the author does not provide evidence that can rule out the above stated alternate explanations.