The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

People have different views about the qualities of a good leadership. While some of them believe that a good leader should be willing to cooperate and arrive at a consensus with the opposing party, others believe that the nature to compete with others is a paramount quality of a good leadership. The prompt suggests that we should inculcate a sense of coorporation in the minds of our young poeple to prepare them for leadership in various fields rather than competition. I feel that it depends on the field in which they choose to work would define the importance of either of the characteristics for the following reasons.

Firsly, let us consider the case of public service or a government official elected by the people. In such fields where our decision should be made based on various factors like - opinion of the people, opinions of other representatives, socio-economic factors, etc, it is the ability to cooperate with others that would aid in making the correct decision. Especially in the field of Politics, we will come across some people who ardently support a law while others want to oppose the law. One cannot disregad the opinions or concerns of the opposing party and implement a law foolhardily. Such actions would have detrimental ramifications that may not forsee. Such practice is against the very fundamentals of democracy which states that every voice should be heard. A leader who does not have consideration for opposing views cannot be considered as a good leader. Thus, in such situations, where dissenting voices should also be heard and taken into consideration, a leader can make a decision only when he is good at cooperating with the opposite party and arriving at a consesus. There may not be a solution that is appeases everyone in the society but a good leader can negotiate terms with various parties and arrive at a solution may be by mutual concession. Thus, in some fields, especially in politics, the ability to cooperate with others is more benign.

However, there are fields, especially related to cooperate sectors, where the proclivity for compition aids a company in moving forward. If it was not for competition, it is blatant that one would not see the technological advancments that we see today. For example, let us take example of technology. Steve Jobs always thought about how can they compete with the then tech gaints like IBM and HP. He was very adamant about what he wants his team to come up with so that they can supercede the existing tech gaints. His penchant for compition made him to take unprecedented risks which eventually paid off. And now if we look the company that he founded, Apple Inc, it is the most valuable company in the world. This would not have been possible if Steve Jobs didn't have the desire to compete with the spearheads.

Therefore, one should inculcate both the sense of cooperation as well as compitition into the minds of the young people simultaneously making them aware of advantages and disadvantages of each school of thought. This will equip them with enough knowledge and choose one over the other based on the field they choose to work in the future.