We can learn much more from people whose views we share than from people whose views contradict our own.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

As we go along, we meet many people of which, some of them have the same view as we have on a particular subject while others have a contradictory view. The prompt suggests that we learn more from people who share a similar view than from those people who have a contrasting view. I personally feel that we indeed learn more from the people who challenge our views than from those whose views are in congruous with our views for the following reasongs.

Firstly, we can fully understand the merit of something we know when we can convince those people who hold an opposing view about it. People who oppose one's view bring straight to the table of discussion - disagreement. So, it is like firing a challenge to me to convince them that they are wrong. When we start discussion about a topic through ratiocination, one can learn the merits and demerits of what he/she believes in. As a result, if the person is right, he/she will better realize the merits of what they believe in and on the contrary, if the person discovers that he/she is wrong, they will be presented with a better opportunity to learn from the contradictory views. On the other hand, if I hold a discussion about a topic with a friend who shares the same view, it is guaranteed that I will definitely not know the fallacious in what I believe and therefore, there will not be much to learn from him/her for two reasons - one, I would not have to think much to convince him of my views and so, learning is precluded and two, I will not be challenged hence, there won't much to debate on. Therefore, we learn more from those who hold an opposing view.

Secondly, throughout different systems in our society, people with opposing views are deliberately given importance rather than secluding them so that they can point out the shortcomings in a plan and keep them vigilant about the possible mishaps. For instance, let us take the example of a democratic system of government. In a democracy, the party with the majority seats forms the government and the party with lesser seats form the opposition. As the government puts up various bills for ordinance during the parliment seession, the representatives on both sides of aisle debate on the merits and demerits of the bills. The country by watching these debates get to know th merits and the demerits of the bills. On the contrary, if there is no opposition in the parliment to challenge the bills, the country would not definitely know the shortcomings and may fall into a snare that the passed bills are benevolent to them where infact the bills serve only the elite few. Hence, it is pertinent that people with opposing views are encouraged to participate in a system rather than osctrazing them.

However, in the realms of our discussion, we cannot overlook a few exceptions. There might be some people with opposing views to not to cede even in the light of blatantly visible evidence that shows they are ludicrouslly wrong. Discussion with such people will only sap our energy without any fruitful learning from them.

To recapitulate, we tend to learn more from people who opppose our views.