The following is a recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company.

"Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read would cost Acme only $500 per employee — a small price to pay when you consider the benefits. Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, to improve overall productivity, Acme should require all of our employees to take the Easy Read course."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The personnel director recommends that the Acme Publishing Company mandate its employees to take Easy Read course to improve the productivity of its employees. This recommendation is based on the reported improved productivity by many other companies, the capability of one of the graduates of the course to read a 500-page report in just two hours and the promotion of another graduate. However, before the recommendation can be properly evaluated, on need answers to the followng questions.

Firstly, how authentic are the claims made by the other companies that the productivity of their employees improved after taking the course? The director fallaciously assumes that assertions made by other companies are true without showing any sign of cynicism. However, this may not be the case. There is a possibility that the course provider, in order to lure potential customers, spuriously showcases that the productivity of the employees improve drastically even if it is not the case. If this happens to be true, the director's prediction that productivity improves after taking the course will fall flat on its face.

Secondly, is the performance of one graduate sufficient to prove the worth of the course? Is promotion of one graduate sufficient to bolster the director's rationale? The anwser is definitely no. Even if one the course is actually subliminal at its best, there will be a couple of people who show drastic improvement in thier productivity. This enhanced productivity should be imputed to the intrinsic capabilities of the person which has not been unraveled due to various reasons or a promotion that would have been given to the person even if the person did not take the course as it has been long due. In order to understand the worthiness of a course, the course provider should actually show proven consistent record of the enhanced productivity of its graduates over a period of time and in substantial numbers. If the answers to the above questions show that there is no correlation between the course and the productivity, the author's argument does not hold water.

Finally, is it economical for the company to invest 500 dollars in each of its employees? The author did not mention the size of the company. It is possible that there are quite a large number of personnel working in the company and aggregated cost of the course would outweigh the benefits of the course. If this is the case, then the director's recommendation would prove to be a curse to the company than benediction.

Therefore, the argument, as it stands, is unpersuasive as it does include any information that addresses any of the questions posed above. One can better evaluate the recommendation and its consequences if the director can provide detailed answers to the above question so that there is no room for any ambiguity.