The vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries sent the following recommendation to the company's president.

"A recent national survey found that the majority of workers with access to the Internet at work had used company computers for personal or recreational activities, such as banking or playing games. In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their workstations. Using electronic monitoring software is the best way to reduce the number of hours Climpson employees spend on personal or recreational activities. We predict that installing software to monitor employees' Internet use will allow us to prevent employees from wasting time, thereby increasing productivity and improving overall profits."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The vice president recommends that the company should use electronic monitoring software to alleviate the employees' prodcutivity and thus the profits. To support his recommendation, the author cites findings from a national survey that workers with internet access use company computers for personal and recreational activities and thus, hampers the productivity. Though, at first glance, the author's reasoning seems plausable, but on futher delibration, the answers to specific questions could help us validate the if outcome of the plan would be as predicted.

Firstly, is the survey applicable to the company? In other words, do the sample choosen for the national survey represent company's employees? The vice president implicitly suggests that the finding of the survey is applicable to its company's employees and there is no reason not to doubt that the employees are not working at their full potential due to access to internet. However, there are no details of the survey mentioned with out which we cannot ascertain if the survey results are applicable to its employees. There is a possibility that the company's employees are deligent towards their duty even with the access to the internet contrary to what the vice president implies. If the employees are austere about their work, then the author's claim that the employees are unnecessarily wasting time on the internet does not hold water.

Second of all, how can one assert that using company's computers and the Internet for personal and recreational activities exacerbate the employees' efficiency? Without the Internet, one would have to go to a bank to make a transaction which inherently requires to travel in a congested city on a bumpy road. By the time the employee reaches offieces, half a day would get consumed. In addition, the employee would become enervated due the strain during travel which would inadvertently affect his efficiency. In fact, Internet has made in it possible to perform onerous task at lightening speed with no effort which otherwise would not be possible. Recreational activities rekindles the enthusiasum in the employees and thus boosts their productivity. As long as the employees are not misusing their freedom, one cannot state that Internet is a hinderance to the employees' productivity.

Last but not the least, is electronic monitoring the best to check the misuse of Internet by the employees? Though it could be fruitful in the beginning, it would lead to degradation in relationship between the employees and the company in the long run. There can be a discontent insinuating among the employees that the company does not trust them and thus, there is every possibility that the employees do not work to their best. This disbelief would not only preclude employees from working deligently but also would slowly lead to the collapse of the company. Hence, the author, before prematurely concluding that electronic monitoring would prevent employees from doing personal and recreational activities, should give a considerable thought over the consequences of implementing such strenous plan.

As a whole, the argument, as it stands, is unwarranted as its efficacy of the recommendation would depend on the answers to the aforementioned questions.