a person should never take an important decision alone.

At some point or the other, time will come when a person has to make an important decision that can have momenteous ramifications. The prompt suggests that a person should always consult others while taking a concequential decision. I agree with the prompt for the following reasons.

To begin with, there is a famous technique with the name "Wisdom of the crowd" that is used in various fields. One can understand its importance given that it is used in not just one or two fields but in a multitude of fields. One can understand the importance of implementing such a technique while making an important decision as well. The basic supposition of this technique is that the knowledge of a group of people will help in producing a better outcome as compared to the knowledge of any one person in the group. When we present a problem to a group of people, they all will attack the problem from different perspectives. Buying discussing various advantages and disadvantages of each perspective, the group can arrive at a common solution that is least likely to fail. In a similar manner, when a person consults a number of people and take into consideration their opinions, the person will be equipped with the knowledge of those people and will be in a better position to take important decisions than otherwise would have.

Moreover, when a person takes a pivotal decision upon consultation with a group of people, there would people to support him if the decision leads to unanticipated consequences. The support from the people would infact wane the damage and help him in recovering as soon as possible. The person will only emerge from the debacle with more determination and optimism which can have a positive impact taking future decisions. In contrast, if a person takes an important decision on his own and faces adverse consequences, he will be in predicament with no support from his acquaintances or friends. Such a plight would make it harder for him to recuperate.

Therefore, as one can see, it is never advisable to take an important decision alone as knowledge of a group can play a consequential role in taking the right decision as well as one will have the support of a group of people in case the decision leads to an unwelcomed result.