Question: A company has announced that it wishes to build a large factory near your community. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this new influence on your community. Do you support or oppose the factory? Explain your position

Governments and local bodies always try their best to allure companies to built factories in their localities. This is because they understand how important a factory can be for the growth of a community. I strongly support the announcement by the company to build a factory in my community for the following reasons.

Firstly, they provide a large number of jobs to the people living in the community. The unemployment rate is very high in my community despite the fact that most of the individuals are qualified enough to work in a factory. Due to non availability of work in my community, most of the qualified personnel leave for places where factories are located. Though they are able to find work in far away places, they are not left with enough money to save and send some money back home. Building a factory in my locality would help people find work in the locality itself and they can commute to the work right from their home. This way, they will be able to save money and improve the lives of their families.

Secondly, building a factor can also spur economic growth within the community by giving rise to other related factories and shops to support the manpower working the factories. For example, if the company is building a manufacturing plant, it is required to build other factories that would supply the raw materials to the manufacturing plant. Moreover, the infrastructure needed to support these factories would also be built by the governing bodies there by benefiting both the factories as well as the community. Other small business will also have to be established in order to provide services to the factories as well as to the people working in the factories. Thus, building a factory can be a boon to my community as economic activity will be instigated.

However, some might argue that a factory can have detrimental effects on the community as well. This can be in the form of noise pollution, air pollution, or water pollution. It is also possible that the factory will be dealing with hazardous materials like in the case of making fertilizers or working with radioactive material. But, given the developments in technology and the safety measures prescribed by governing bodies that have to be strictly adhered to by the factory, one can assured that all the harmful effects will be handled appropriately and will be nullified so that no harm is caused to the community.

To sum it all, building a factory will prove to be a boon to my community which is suffering from high unemployment rate by generating a large number of jobs directly and indirectly. It will also spur economic growth whilst taking caring of all the possible malignant ramifications.