Essay topics:

A company has announced that it wishes to build a large factory near your community. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this new influence on your community. Do you support or oppose the factory? Explain your position.

Factories are essential for the development and economic growth of the person, society and the country as a whole. They are the cornerstone for the society. Factories have both pros and cons; however, as it is essential for the development, I will support the decision to construct a large factory around my community which I will explore in following paragraphs.

Factories have many advantages; factories provides the job opportunity and also reduces the cost of the products. In fact, the factories help to earn and save money directly and indirectly. For example, let us consider a sugar factory built in a society. Of course, it will create employment opportunity for the local peoples and they will be able to earn money. Besides, the people who work on the factories, the farmers who cultivate the sugarcane will also make money by selling it. And consequently, the product — sugar— produced will be available to the community people at low cost which will save some money of the people near factory. Thus, factories have overall benefits for the people of the community.

However, factories also have negative impacts on the society as the byproducts pollutes the environment. For instance, in the previous example of the sugar factory, the byproducts will be various gases — like CO2, CH4, etc. — which gives rise to global warming and impacts severely on the health of the people, and other parts of the sugarcanes that produce unpleasant smells. Further, the waste water from the industries when mixes to the streams or rivers severely affects the aquatic life. These gases and pollutants make life of the people and organisms difficult. Nevertheless, these effects can be mitigated by adopting the appropriate measures to some extent.

To recapitulate, the pros of the factory far outweighs the cons of it; therefore, I will stand with the believe that the factories are actually beneficial, and I will support activities to build the factory around my community.