The tufted groundhog lives in the coastal wetlands of West Lansburg. Ancient records suggest that the tufted groundhog once numbered in the millions. Since they were declared a wildlife sanctuary in 2004, development along the coastal wetlands has been prohibited. Now local development interests are lobbying for the West Lansburg council to allow an access road to be built along the edge of wetlands. Neighboring Eastern Carpenteria, which had a similar sanctuary, has seen its sea otter population decline since the repeal of its sanctuary status in 1978. In order to preserve the region's biodiversity and ensure a healthy environment, the West Lansburg council should not allow the road to be built."

In the letter to the editor for the West Lansburg, the auther claims that Lansburg council should prevent from allowing the road to be built in the West Lansburg; he asserted based on the evidence that, in the past year, the population of otter in the nearby otter sanctuary declined after the construction of the road through the scanctuary. The argument as a whole depends on several unwarranted assumptions and the evidence provided lacks to bolster the claim. Therefore, futher informations are needs to be provided in order to analyze the viability of the claim.

To begin, the argument doesn't mention the similarities and differences of the West Lansburg and the neighbouring Eastern Carpenteria. And also, what are the similarities and differences of the tufted groundhog and sea otter? For instance, it might be case that the two regions are significantly different in terms of area, forest denseness, etc. And, it might also possible that the behaviour of the two wildlife towards human behaviour is significantly different. If the area of the West Lansburg sanctuary is significantly higher than that of East Carpenteria, then it might be possible that road construction would not affect the population of the tufted groundhog. If any of these have merit then the argument as a whole doesn't hold water.

Similarly, the argument doesn't provide information about the suitability of the construction of road in the West Lansburg; but, the auther directly asserted that the construction of road will be the replica of the nearby otter sanctuary. For instance, the habitat of the both wildlife might not be the same and the road construction might affect the population of the one wildlife but not the another. If this might be the case then, the argument is significantly weakened.

Furthermore, can we copy the effects of a certain activity on sanctuary to another? Of course not. Also, the argument compares the fact of almost 20 years past to the present; which might not be necessarily true.

In conclusion, the argument as a whole makes numerous groundless assumptions and the evidence provided are not enough. Therefore, the aforementioned further information is required in the form of systematic research so that the claim not to allow the road to be built through the sanctuary is practicable or not.