Claim: Researchers should not limit their investigations to only those areas in which they expect to discover something that has an immediate, practical application.

Reason: It is impossible to predict the outcome of a line of research with any certainty.

Research has been around since the time humans have inhabitated the earth. Many life changnig as well as life saving inventions have been made through researches. While some research findings have immediate impact on life, some other researches can take ages to find fecund applications but can have a consequential impact. The prompt recommends that research investigations should not be limited to only those whose findings will have immediate and expedient applications for it is impossible to predict the outcome of a research with certainty. I agree with the prompt for the following reasons.

Firstly, one of the innate natures of a research is uncertainity in the result of the research. It is fatuous to appraise the implications of findings of a research even before commencement of the research. For example, NASA has been performing research on space exploration for decades - right from taking pictures of distant celestial bodies to sending satellites to the unconquered places in our solar system. Though this kind of research does not promise lucrative findings, it helps in finding answers to the questions that have been haunting the human race since its inception - How did life start of earth? Is there any other planet in the Universe to sustain life? etc. The answers to this questions will help in developing a self-sustaning human civilization on other planets as well and also help in protecting the human civilizatioin from extinction due to threats posed by asteriods or alien life. Thus, as we can see, such researchs may not provide any findings that have immediate and practical applications. However, any successful finding can not only impact the present generation but also the human race as a whole. Thus, it is imperative to carry out such researches whose findings do not promise any immediate or practical applications.

Secondly, another important field of study where research should be encouraged regardless of the pratical implications of the findings is healthcare and medicine. As we see around, people across different continents are suffering from travail diseases that debiliate them in every way. Be it Cancer, AIDS or a pandemic like COVID-19, there are a myraid of health complications that we suffer from and make our lives miserable. One would be suprised to see the degraded state of healthcare systems around the world in the present times of a global pandemic even after so many years of advancement of the human civilization as a whole. If one muses over the reasons for such predicament, it is undoubtedly the very mindset of ours that urges us to pursue those researches whose findings which we think can help us mint money in the shortest time possible. It is due to lack of foresight and also casting a blind eye to such researches that look like they do not possess any potential benifit we are living with perennial diseases and do not see a ray of hope anytime soon.

However, in the realms of our discussion, we cannot overlook some exceptions. Taking up researches that seem to promise an immediate and practical applications can sometimes expedite other researches that have been taking ages to conclude them. One such example can be the research on the computer technology. We saw some lumineers expedite the research on computer technology as they saw a very lucrarive business in it. However, the development of the computer technology also helped speed up other researches as computers that can perform gargauntun mathematical operations which otherwise would take ages were used by the researchers to aid them.

To recapitulate, it is pertinent to pursue researches whose findings may not have immediate or expedient applications as such researches can be a benson in the long run not only for human civilizaton as a whole but also help in solving myraid of problems in the present times.