Claim: Researchers should not limit their investigations to only those areas in which they expect to discover something that has an immediate, practical application.

Reason: It is impossible to predict the outcome of a line of research with any certainty.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

People conduct research to make significant discoveries to benefit our society. The author states that research should not be bound to a particular limitation because it is impossible to anticipate research results with any certitude. I agree with the author’s claim and reasons, so I will argue why the author’s argument holds true in the following essay.

Admittedly, in some cases, researchers should limit their study to specific areas to make an immediate and feasible application. This is because restricting the research range would be effective in realizing particular goals. Take Henry Ford, for example. Even though he was not the pioneer of inventing automobiles, he contributed to commercializing automobiles on a large scale to the general public. Before the advent of his technology, only affluent people could afford cars. Thus, with his goal of the mass production of automobiles, Ford limited the range of research areas to develop economic modes of transportation. He finally designed the assembly line, in which thousands of cars were built by people specializing in a specific part of the car. Since Ford limited his investigation to create immediate advancement, he could make automobiles readily available to everyone. In light of the above case, limiting research topics is essential because practical applications reap benefits for society.

However, in most cases, researchers should not conduct research on a limited area to achieve rapid development. Such limitations would only hamper the long-term studies and potential success. To illustrate, Samuel Huntington conducted a study in an area that would not yield pragmatic outcomes readily accessible. Nevertheless, through his continuous research, he could come up with the concept of the “Clash of Civilization,” stating that future wars after the Cold War would be fought not between countries but between cultures and religions and that Islamic extremism would be the biggest threat to the Western domination of the world. After the 9/11 terrorist proved his hypothesis, he motivated many political scientists and scholars to analyze the long-run investigation of his theory. Hence, immediate and practical applications should not be primarily sought when conducting studies.

Furthermore, the reason that predicting the outcome of a line of research with confidence is impossible is credible. Throughout the history of scientific research, many innovative discoveries were unpredictable and fortuitous. Stem cell research can be a compelling example. Because of the ethical implications of the study, many people castigated scientists leading the stem cell study. Still, the study is highly possible to bring unprecedented improvement in the field of medical science, as stem cells could be used to treat incurable and terminal diseases. Although there is uncertainty regarding the consequences of the study due to the various factors affecting the process of the experiment, the unpredictable results may be epochal in the area of health care. Accordingly, given that the property of research’s uncertainty could lead to revolutionary scientific findings, scientists and researchers should not narrow their research areas to the practical world.

In conclusion, even though setting specific research fields help generate practical applications to some degree, research should not be limited in scope. In addition, people should broaden their horizons to think beyond just the immediate world.