79

Claim: The best test of an argument is its ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint.

Reason: Only by being forced to defend an idea against the doubts and contrasting views of others does one really discover the value of that idea.

There are many ways to test an argument. Some might state that persuading someone with competing views is the best mean to evaluate an argument because only by being forced to defend an idea against doubts and different opinions would help one to advance the value of hie or her idea. However, I believe convincing others with different opinions would be a good way to test an argument but not the best way.

Admittedly, persuasion skills could be considered good method to test one’s argument especially in scientific field. To prove hypothesis, scientists and researchers provide reasonable evidence based on which they persuade people to believe their discoveries. If the public do not buy their findings, their findings would be futile. Thus, they must succeed in encouraging people to change their perspective and believe their findings. Galileo Galilei would be an appealing example. In the past, while people believe in heliocentrism, he insisted on that geocentric theory that the Earth is considered to be the center of the solar system. Even though people initially opposed to his opinions, he kept adhere to his theory and did not give up persuading people. Ultimately, people began to believe his argument, which advanced the field of space science. As seen in this example, it is somewhat credible to that convincing people with different perspectives would be a reliable method to measure an argument.

However, convincing others with opposing viewpoints is not the best test of an argument because there are other factors are responsible to affect people’s opinions. Thus, even though an argument seems weak, it is possible to persuade people to support the argument due to rhetoric, circumstantial, and emotional influences. Take Adolf Hitler, for example. His ideology of eliminating Jewish people through massive homicide would have not been reasonable to the eyes of objective people. However, his strong speech and conviction impressed the public, leading the standing ovation, and many Germans followed his commends and killed millions of Jewish people. In addition, those with lack of cognitive and intellectual abilities, they could not understand the key points of arguments which require high levels of intellectual understanding. In the case, people with lack of learning easily believe arguments made by highly educated people, elites, and politicians. Accordingly, it is plausible to disagree that making other people to accept a contention is the best indicator of evaluating the contention.

In conclusion, all things considered, the idea that to convince others with different thoughts is the best way to test the argument. One’s ability to persuade others does not solely contribute to influence others making decision. Many possible variables should be adequately considered.