Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

A government is involved in diverse aspects of people's lives, including art fields. Some might contend that government funding of the art is crucial to ensure that the arts can succeed and be readily accessible by the public. However, in the following essay, I will argue that in most cases, government funding of the arts may harm the integrity of arts.

Admittedly, in some cases, the government's financial support for the arts would be helpful for the arts to be prosperous. With the government's sponsorship, the people can gain more access to the arts. For example, during World War I, the United States army sent eight artists to record the expeditionary force in France. The government's support opened many doors for the artists to take and draw pictures of the vivid and candid scenes of the war. By seeing the art pieces, the public could learn how the war was severe and grasp the significance of the historical events. Thus, when people are mired in difficulties, the government should make the art more readily available to many people. Such government funding is beneficial not only to the artists but also to the public. As we can see from this compelling evidence, government funding of the art is essential to the arts' successful growth.

Despite the aforementioned example, government funding of the arts threatens the artists' integrity. Throughout history, the government has compelled artists to convey political messages through their artworks in many cases. Take the Cultural Revolution in China, for example, the government manipulates the artists to herald the ideology of communism and revolution. Notably, the "eight model plays" gained much public attention due to their communist themes. Also, many artists should place Mao Zedong on a pedestal, and no other types of works were not allowed to produce as the government strongly censured every piece of artwork. Art should be a form of expression by the artists themselves, but in such cases, individuals' will and freedom are restricted. In addition, the artworks under the government's sponsorships can reflect the political purpose and propaganda on behalf of the government benefits. Such government funding should be suspended to keep the arts' integrity intact. Therefore, government investment in arts can have an adverse effect on the arts' purity and virtue as it impedes their freedom of expression.

Since the government takes a toll on the integrity of the arts, society often replaces the government's role in financially supporting the arts, which may reap more benefits. In general, the government may set a budget and place more priorities on certain areas other than the arts. In such cases, art funding might not be given precedence, so citizens should financially support the artists. During the Renaissance, the Medici Family played a significant role in sponsoring art and architecture. As artists created their works once they received commissions in advance, the funds from the Medici were indispensable. In Florence, the Medici Family members and patronage supported the distinguished artists in their era, such as Leonardo Da Vinci. In Rome, the Medici members made it a family tradition to help other artists, including Michelangelo and Raphael. Thus, if the government's funding does not meet the demands of artists and mars the arts' integrity, the citizens should intervene to resolve the issue. In this regard, artworks would thrive the most when funded by society because private funding guarantees freedom of expression.

In brief, although government investment in arts can be beneficent in some cases, the funding of the arts may hurt the integrity of the arts in more cases. Thus, political involvement should be hampered.