143. No field of study can advance significantly unless it incorporates knowledge and experience from outside that field.

It is debatable whether it is necessary to include knowledge and experience from outside fields to make a tremendous improvement in a specific field. I disagree with the statement because some fields of study can improve substantially without incorporating knowledge and experience from other fields of study. In the following essay, I will provide valid examples to strengthen my argument.

Admittedly, a range of fields would be advanced significantly with the help of external fields of study. In particualr, technology and politics need expertise of other studies to achieve a remarkable improvement. In the field of technology, Steve Jobs would be a compelling example. Steve Jobs was a founder of Apple corporation, at which he created various innovative products, such as iphone, ipod, and macbook. As Apple products have been well-known and popular with his innovative features as well as aesthetic components. To invent such apparatuses, he integrated disparate fields of studies, including math, material science, physics, and aesthetic deisign. In addition, in a political field, diplomats and politicians should not solely rely on their own political experiences. To accomplish further development, they should employ experts from different areas. For example, they should hire economic professionals as the economy plays a significant role in a nation’s well-being. Franklin D. Roosevelt had competent economic expertise. Thus, when the United States was mired in poverty and destitution due to the Great Depression, he implemented the New Dear project, which successfully stabilized the financial status of the states. Following the examples mentioned above, it is credible to state that there are several fields of study which had developed with the aid of expertise from other studies.

However, some areas of academic fields can succeed without applying knowledge from outside those fields. In general, mathematics and arts do not require additional learning from outside fields. To illustrate, math only bases on numbers and facts and solely focuses on establishing new theories and solving problems. For example, when Pythagoras discovered a groundbreaking math theory called the Pythagorean theorem, which did not utilize specific knowledge from any other fields but only mathematics concepts and theories, he was stuck in his room and spent decades of nights studying previous mathematical notions and ideas. Moreover, ingenuity and creativity are core components of art. Thus, artists usually spend most of their time thinking about innovative and creative ideas to reflect on their drawings other than studying other fields of study. Hence, it is not persuasive to contest that all fields of study need the help of other fields to bring out successful outcomes.

In brief, the author’s argument that no field of study can develop significantly unless it corporates the knowledge and experience from outside that field. Even though many fields can make more outstanding developments by combining various fields, some fields still can make substantial progress by solely relying on their fields’ expertise and knowledge.