The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal.

"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The argument presented in the letter to the editor of a scientific journal suggests that birth order has a significant effect on an individual's levels of stimulation, as the study of 18 rhesus monkeys shows that firstborn infant monkeys produce twice as much of the hormone cortisol in stimulating situations, such as encountering an unfamiliar monkey, than their younger siblings. Additionally, the study suggests that firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in similar situations. However, while the evidence presented in the study may support this argument, there are several alternative explanations that should also be considered.

One alternative explanation is that the differences in cortisol levels observed in the study may be due to environmental factors rather than birth order. For example, first-time mother monkeys may have experienced more stress during pregnancy due to a lack of social support or access to resources, leading to higher cortisol levels. This stressful environment could also extend to the firstborn monkey's encounter with unfamiliar monkeys, leading to higher cortisol levels in that situation as well. This explanation can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument, as it would explain why first-time mother monkeys and firstborn monkeys would have higher cortisol levels, without necessarily implicating birth order as the cause.

Another alternative explanation is that the observed differences in cortisol levels could be due to individual variations in temperament rather than birth order. It is possible that firstborn monkeys and humans have a naturally higher tendency towards anxiety and reactivity, which would lead to higher cortisol levels in stimulating situations. This temperament could be influenced by a combination of genetic and environmental factors, and thus, the observed correlation between birth order and cortisol levels may not be causal. This explanation can also account for the facts presented in the argument, as it would explain why firstborn individuals would have higher cortisol levels, without necessarily implicating birth order as the cause.

While the study presented in the letter to the editor may provide evidence for the proposed explanation of birth order affecting levels of stimulation, it is important to consider alternative explanations as well. These explanations, such as environmental factors and individual variations in temperament, can also plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument, and further research is needed to determine the true cause of the observed differences in cortisol levels.