Some people claim that the goal of politics should be the pursuit of an ideal. Others argue that the goal should be finding common ground and reaching reasonable consensus.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented

In the era of globalization, some people support the pursuit of an ideal goal, while others claim that a goal should be reached through mutual agreement. The following essay will argue that people should work towards an ideal goal.

Admittedly, the opposing view that maintaining a goal through cooperation and consensus is essential might hold true under certain circumstances. This is because a political agreement is necessary to resolve international conflicts. Take the Cuban missiles, for example. John F. Kennedy rallied the United States because the Soviet Union implemented missiles in Cubs, which could potentially threaten America. Even though Kennedy could carry out the one-sided attack on the Soviet Union and try to reach an impossible and ideal goal, he made extraordinary efforts to negotiate with Nikita Khrushcveh to find common ground Khrushcveh agreed to remove Cuban missiles in exchange for the U.S. promising not to invade Cuba. By reaching a consensus, the U.S. could maintain amicable international relations. Accordingly, based on the above example, it is plausible to state that finding common ground is a vital factor in politics.

However, in most cases, the goal of pursuit should be ideal. This is because being realistic is ineffective, and political leaders must be idealistic to achieve significant accomplishments. The women’s right movements is a compelling instance. In the past, when the concept of “glass-celling” was prevalent, women did not have equal rights as men had. In particular, women were not eligible to vote. Compared to men, women also could not have equal opportunities to get educated or promoted to higher positions. Susan B. Anthony, a prominent American civil rights leader, strived to offer the right to vote to women. She could not realize suffrage for women in her life, but her efforts were significantly responsible for women’s enfranchisement. Although many people considered her goal unrealistic, her idealized goal made it possible for women to achieve freedom much later in the course of history. As seen in this example, idealization is pivotal in achieving political goals.

Furthermore, examining political figures shows why the claim that idealized notion overrides reaching an agreement. Especially, presidents should adhere to idealized objectives. For instance, Abraham Lincoln led the United States to an equal society by achieving his ideal goal. The U.S. was divided into the Confederate and the Union during the 1800s. The Confederate agreed with the ownership of slaves, while the Union was strongly opposed to the property of slavery. Despite fierce criticism from the Confederates, Lincoln did not settle for common ground. He issued the Emancipation Proclamation to abolish slavery and eliminate discrimination in the U.S. Abolishing slavery could be seen as a far-fetched ideal notion. Still, he did not give up on fighting for such elusive ideas. Eventually, due to Lincoln’s pursuit of an ideal, slaves gained fundamental rights, and America could become a more egalitarian society. Hence, it is somewhat credible to state that one needs to maintain their ideal goals in the political field.

In conclusion, all things considered, although making harmony is imperative, pursuing an ideal is more important in politics. Walt Disney once stated, “All our dreams can come true if we have the courage to pursue them.”