Some people claim that the goal of politics should be the pursuit of an ideal. Others argue that the goal should be finding common ground and reaching reasonable consensus.

I feel that a country prospers when the politics drives in the pursuit of an ideal as well as in finding common ground and reaching reasonable consensus. Capitalism might work for America where as Communalism might work of Soviet Union, it should also depend on what kind of dynamics the country is in and it’s economic policies. A country like India follows Democracy, where as countries like Germany, Nigeria, Somalia are republic countries. India follows process established by law where as America follows Due process of law. India and France enjoy powers like liberty, equality and fraternity where as some under privileged countries don’t enjoy them despite wanting to. America is fortunate to have ideas like impeachment of president, judicial review, fundamental rights which are great but might not suit the dynamics of other countries. Montesquieu’s idea of Doctrine of separation of powers in his book The Spirit of Laws, might not find a common ground in some countries. History has seen great politicians and philosophers who’ve given insights on how a society should evolve and how government works. Karl Marx in his book Das Capital claims about how communism is ideal for any country and how capitalism sits on exploiting warming classes and masses. On contrary, Adam Smith, the father of Capitalism, supports it. India too has philosophers like MN Roy who gave Radical Humanism, which isn’t appropriate all the times. Jeremy Bentham and JS Mill have propounded Utilitarianism to promote happiness and pleasure. Too many political ideas may even lead to differences in ideologies and might cause some thrift and tension in the government. These days be it in America or Britain or India, leaders are chosen based on their views either right wing or left wing. In history, theories of thinkers have served as guiding books for the advancement of civilisation. Sometimes difference in political views had even lead to wars. In the end any ideology should be in eradicating discrimination, providing equal opportunities, driving away poverty and hunger, providing good health and education and gender equality. To achieve effective governance, one might take reference from ideologies which suit their dynamics and getting on to common ground with public consensus.