Some people claim that the goal of politics should be the pursuit of an ideal. Others argue that the goal should be finding common ground and reaching reasonable consensus.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

I mostly agree with the opinion in which the goal of politics should be finding common ground and reaching reasonable consensus mainly for two reasons - first one is finding common ground and reaching reasonable decision can solve a lot of complex problems in a far easier way rather than creating dispute and the second reason behind my position is in this way politics can remain unbiased in the welfare of common people not creating extreme position within the society. However I do concede with the first fact that the goal of politics should be the pursuit of an ideal if and only if that ideal is welcomed by many or not creating a hostile environment.

So the first reason behind my position is that finding common ground can help politics to solve a lot of complex problems in a easier manner without creating dispute. When politicians are actually discussing their position on a certain decision many differences are ought to appear, which can lead to row. These types of situations actually demand compromises from both sides. There has to be a middle way to find the best possible solution possible for a problem. Otherwise these differences can create a hostile environment among the politicians and getting a pragmatic solution of a particular problem will not be possible ever. So a compromise has to be made to reach a common ground. Only in this way a practical solution can be achieved which can actually serve the need of each groups and this way any complex national problems can be solved to a greater extent. That should be the goal of Politics in the first position.

The second reason behind my position is Politics remains unbiased when it is actually serving the purpose of each opinion to some extent to reach a common ground. If the main goal of politics is to pursuit of an ideal, that ideal always can not show best possible result for everybody or every nation. But if politics takes into account everyone's opinion and then reaches to a conclusion remembering everyone's purposes in this way it can serve greater good for all the people in the community and politicians as well and there can not be rise of any extremist groups which can lead to a healthy environment for the politicians as well as the common people.