The following appeared in the summary of a study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia.

"Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, for the past several decades, food-processing companies have also been adding salicylates to foods as preservatives. This rise in the commercial use of salicylates has been found to correlate with a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by participants in our twenty-year study. Recently, food-processing companies have found that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods. With this new use for salicylates, we can expect a continued steady decline in the number of headaches suffered by the average citizen of Mentia."

The study claims that increasing use of salicylates will decline the number of headaches suffered by the average citizen of Mentia. To support this idea the study presents several factors. That salicylates belong to the same chemical family as aspirin which is used to cure headaches. Also, he assumes that the increasing use of salicylates is responsible for the decline in the number of headaches suffered by people. However, due to lack of logical explanation and doubtful remarks the standpoint does not seem valid.

Firstly, the author claims that as salicylates is in the same chemical family of aspirin, it will also work as aspirin and reduce headache. Perhaps, this might not be the case. It can be entirely possible that it does not cure headache at all. Perhaps manufacturing companies are using another product which is helping to reduce headache. Without ruling out this possibility, the claim does not hold water.

Even if the foregoing assumption is true, the study unfairly assumes that the result of the twenty-year study is accurate. It can be entirely possible that the people who have participated in the experiment had taken proper medical treatment from doctors. Or the reasons that were responsible for their headache has been reduced by this long time. So without rulling out this possibilty the claim that the use of salicylates is responsible for the decrease in headaches. Again the number of participants is also responsible for the accuracy of a survey. The smaller the proportion, the less accurate the result. If salicyclates has helped the small portion of people, it is not warranted that it will help all the people at the same level.

Again if we assume that salicyclates, which has been used as a preservetive, has some effect for reducing headaches, it is not necessarily be true that using as a flavor additives for food. It can be entirely possible that the health benefits of the product may decrease while processing it as a flavor additive food. If this is the case then the claim does not hold water. It will again increase the number of headaches suffered by people.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is seriously flawed due to its reliance on some unwarranted assumptions. The argument can be evaluated properly if the study can substantiate all the assumptions stated below.