Claim: The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Reason: Heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The speaker claims that to understand the character of a society one should examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models because they reveal a society's highest ideals. I mostly disagree with this claim for some reasons.

First of all, the primary reason behind my opinion is not all the people of a society have the same character like their role models. To illustrate the idea an example can be given. Suppose a role model of a society is a good businessman who has achieved a lot of success in a very short time. It is not necessary that most of the people of that society possess the quality of being a good businessman. He might have achieved the success by his own hard work. Perhaps the nation he belongs does not have a stable environment for conducting business. So most of the people do not feel safe to have a career in that field. So, their roll model does not represent the character of that society.

Secondly, I hold my opinion for another reason which is, the way a man or a woman who is a national hero presents themselves in front of the public, is not always the true character of themselves. People who are public figure often potray themselves as an ideal person from all sides. But in reality they might not be like that. It has been proved from different scandals. From outside, it may seem like all the people have the ideal qualities like their role model but in reality their role model may have falsely represented them in front of everyone. So metimes people who do not come in front of people are the ones who do all the good works to help a society.

However, in some cases the opposite can be true. For example, in India people made Sachin Tendulkar their role model which implies that most of the people prefer cricket more than any other games. This is actually true for Indian people. Most of them are blind followers of cricket and cricketers which is evident from the excitement they show in the cricket stadium during any match of India.

To sum up, it can be said that not everytime the role models represnts the character of a society. Most of the people like the personality of their role models but do not prefer to be like them by doing all the hard work.