Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

The business manager recommends that to avoid losing advertising revenue and viewers' attraction they should cover local and weather news in all their programs. To support this idea he cites the following facts which are (1) most of the complaints were about the shortage of local and weather news (2)local businesses have canceled their advertising contracts with them. However, due to proper logical explanation and doubtful remarks this standpoint does not seem valid.

First of all, the manager assumes that the local businesses have canceled their contract due to lack of weather and local news in late night. However, it is entirely possible that poor management, the high cost of contracts might be the reason for this situation. Moreover, local businesses may have got enough popularity that they don't want to advertise anymore. If either of these scenarios has merit then the conclusion drawn in the argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, the recommendation of expanding the coverage of local and weather news in all news programs does not seem valid due to some reasons. First of all, people might not like watching news of the same topic all the time. This can create a bad impression. instead of attracting more viewers, this step might decrease the amount of viewers. Again if they do so, the views who like national news more might start complaining. If the above is true, the argument does not hold water.

Thirdly, the argument unfairly infres from the fact that these complaints will be constant for a very long time if they continue to cover national news. It is entirely possible that the demand for local and weather news for the late-night viewers is seasonal. This may eventually change after some time. Without ruling out this assumption, the manager can not substantiate the argument.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is flawed due to its reliance on some unwarranted assumptions. To evaluate the recommendation properly the manager has to rule out these assumptions with proper justification.