The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.

The speaker asserts that the well being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority. I mostly agree with the assertion for some reasons.

First of all, If people do not raise questions about different activities taken by authority, the authority would become careless. Government imposes different tax that has to be given by the people of the country. If in a certain society authority increases tax frequently, paying taxes would be difficult for most the people. If they do not raise questions about the reason of new tax imposition, the authority would feel free to impose new taxes without fear. As they don't need to answer questions about the use of the tax income, they might misuse of that money.

Secondly, It can be noticed in political parties that if there is no opposition party in a country, the party which is in power becomes corrupted. They try to use the public properties, resources for their own interest. So Hunger, unemployment, price increase of daily commodities become a natural phenomenon in that society.

In case of justice, judges should be careful in making any decisions. If they feel that they can take any biased decision without answering anyone, they will never give proper judgement. If media is not powertful in a society then many cases do not come to light where powerful people oppresse the powerless by bribing the authority.

Though these examples give ample room to agree with the point but the opposite can also be true in some cases. If mass people start questioning the authority by protesting on roads or create violence it can hamper the economic development of a country. And also sometimes people don't understand the future benefits of some projects taken by government. This will hinder many projects that can be beneficial for future of the society. Because if authority always takes decision with the fear of public protest, then it will impede the natural process of any good project.

In sum, It can be said that public should question the authority for their activities but the process of questioning should be violence free. Otherwise it can crate more disaster.