Some people believe that college students should consider only their own talents and interests when choosing a field of study. Others believe that college students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

The speaker asserts that college students should choose their field of study according to their talents and others believe that they should prioritize the availability of jobs in a specific field. I mostly agree with the first opinion for some reasons.

Firstly, the reason for my viewpoint is people can excel in a subject that attracts them more. An example can be helpful to illustrate the idea. If someone like medical science and is passionate about it, he can excel in the subject more than anyone else. If he is forced to do engineering, thinking that it has more job opportunities than medical science, he would not be able to perform well in his academic career. Gradually he will become demotivated about his future. Because no field of study is easy to learn. Almost all of them need enough attention and hard work. It will eventually become impossible for a demotivated student to get a good job in the highly competitive world. Because without skills, no one can achieve the desired success.

Secondly, another reason for my viewpoint lies in the fact that job market is shifting regularly. If a person is choosing a subject that is very demanding in the job market right now, it is not necessary that things will be the same after his graduation from that particular subject. The situation may reverse totally. In today's world machine is taking the workers' responsibility. So the works done by men previously have been replaced by automation. So the demand of labourous work is decreasing day by day. So relying solely on the job market before choosing a subject can be detrimental for a student.

Though these two reasons give ample room to support the viewpoint, in some cases the opposite can be proven true. If someone is from an underdeveloped country where the deamnd of a specific subject has no future, it would not be wise to choose that subject. Because no matter how much skills he acquire, he would not get enough opportunities to show his talent. So in some cases people should also think about the job market before choosing their desired subject. Otherwise it can be detrimental for their future.

To sum up, it can be said that people should be skilled enough to get a job even in a less popular job field by their hard work. But if someone has financial binding, who can not take any risk, should be aware of the job market also.