The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station.

"To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The manager recommends that they should change their rock-music programs and introduce news and talk format programs that are popular in their area. To support this idea he presented some factors. The number of listeners is declining in their area despite of increase in population. Most of the people are retired person who have moved in their area recently. Also local sales of recorded music is declining. However, due to lack of proper logical explanation and doubtful remarks, his standpoint does not seem valid.

First of all, the manager unfairly assumes that the decline of listeners is due to the more retired persons are coming to their area. Perhaps, this is not the case. Poor management, lack of quality full presentation of music, shortage of skilled employees might be the reason behind the declination. Again, it can be entirely possible that, a new radio station may have appeared which presents better music and programs than their station. So, without ruling out these assumptions the manager can not justify his recommendation.

Even if the manager can substantiate the foregoing assumption, he has ignored the possibility that if they shift to news and talk format program, they would loss the existing listeners also. It is not necessary that retired people who have moved to their place will like news programs more than music. So maybe changing the rock music with some soft music could attract them more than news programs. They could take the decision after conducting a survey among those people about their choices.

Thirdly, the manager assumes that declination in local sales of recorded music implies that people have lost taste in music. Perhaps, they prefer listening music from sources that are free of cost. Now-a-days people can listen to music by browsing internet or from television, radio also. So if the scenario has merit, then the conclusion drawn in the argument is significantly weakened.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is flawed due to its reliance on unwarranted assumptions. If the manager can substantiate all these assumptions with proper logical explanation, then it would be possible to evaluate the viability of the recommendation of changing rock format programs with news and talk format ones.