One month ago, all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. I predict that modifying showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex will increase our profits even more dramatically."

The owner asserts that Modifying showerheads in rest of the buildings will increase the overall profit. To support this recommendation the owner he stated some factors. For the first three building showerheads are modified to restrict the maximum water flow. He assumes that it will result in savings for the apartment. Since the adjustment, they have received only a few complaints. However, due to lack of logical explanation and doubtful remarks, his standpoint does not seem valid.

First of all, the owner unfairly assumes that the change will result in savings. But actual recordings of before and after usage of water is not available. So without having the actual reading the assumption is faulty. It is entirely possible that people will use the shower for longer period of time due to less water flow. So it can eventually increase the usage of water in the apartment complex. So, without ruling out this assumption, the owner can not justify his recommendation.

Even if we assume that the change will bring savings, we can not ignore the possibility that people who are not complaining are okay with the change of water flow. It can be entirely possible that people who are not complaining are facing problems with the change and they might be planning to shift from the apartment. Again it will not be wise to think all the residents of the twelve apartments will react in a same way. Perhaps residents of other apartments will complain more than the three buildings. If these scenario have merits, then it will create more loss than savings.

Again, the apartment owner assumes that changing all the showerheads will bring profit. Profit is not only a factor of revenue but also cost. Perhaps, the overall savings from modifying the water flow will not outweigh the cost of modifying them. Because if the residents of the apartment increase the water usage time due to less water flow, it will bring less savings. If the above is true, the conclusion drawn in the argument is weakened at best.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is significantly weakened due to its reliance on unwarranted assumptions. If the owner can justify all the factors stated above, then it will be possible to evaluate the viability of the recommendation of modifying the maximum water flow in order to make profit.