The following appeared in a health newsletter.

"A ten-year nationwide study of the effectiveness of wearing a helmet while bicycling indicates that ten years ago, approximately 35 percent of all bicyclists reported wearing helmets, whereas today that number is nearly 80 percent. Another study, however, suggests that during the same ten-year period, the number of accidents caused by bicycling has increased 200 percent. These results demonstrate that bicyclists feel safer because they are wearing helmets, and they take more risks as a result. Thus there is clearly a call for the government to strive to reduce the number of serious injuries from bicycle accidents by launching an education program that concentrates on the factors other than helmet use that are necessary for bicycle safety."

In the passage the author has stated that government should launch educational program that concentrates on factor other than helmet use that are necessary for bicycle safety. The reasonings behind the statement are as the number of people using helmets are increasing, number of accidents caused by bicycling is also increasing. He thinks that bicyclists feel safer driving with helmets. So, they drive recklessly. Before evaluating his recommendations some questions must be answered.

Firstly, does the number of bicyclist same as before? In this ten years maybe the number of bicyclists has increased. With this increased number of bicyclists in roads, accidetns may have increased than before. As roads with slow moving and fast moving vehicles create more accidents. If the above is true then the argument does not hold water.

Secondly, Conditions of road may not be same as before. The road condition may be worse than before which are creating more accidents. If this is the case then the conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

Thirdly, Does the traffic jam condition same as before? If traffic jam increases , bicyclists have less time to go to their work place. So they may become reckless in order to reach their destinations on time. This scenario can increasae bicycle accidents than before.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer these three questions then the recommendation can be evaluated properly.