The following appeared in a health newsletter.

"A ten-year nationwide study of the effectiveness of wearing a helmet while bicycling indicates that ten years ago, approximately 35 percent of all bicyclists reported wearing helmets, whereas today that number is nearly 80 percent. Another study, however, suggests that during the same ten-year period, the number of bicycle-related accidents has increased 200 percent. These results demonstrate that bicyclists feel safer because they are wearing helmets, and they take more risks as a result. Thus, to reduce the number of serious injuries from bicycle accidents, the government should concentrate more on educating people about bicycle safety and less on encouraging or requiring bicyclists to wear helmets."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the newletter, the author claimed that while the percentage of bicyclist wearing helmets increased over the past ten years, the amount of bicycle-related accidents also increased, so the government should focus more on educating the bicyclists instead of requiring them to wear the helmets. This argument depends on some assumptions that need to be clarified.

First of all, the author seems to imply that the increasing number of bicycle-related accidents is problematic. While the amount of accidents matters, it is worth noting that if the amount of bicyclists increased over the past ten years, it seems unsurprising that the amount of bicycle-related accidents would also increase. The assumption that the number of bicycle-related accidents is problematic requires more information to be verified. Moreover, the author also contribute the faults of the accidents to the bicyclists. While bicycles are involved in the accidents, the bicyclists may not be the ones who cause the accidents. For instance, if the amount of automobiles increases greatly and overloaded the roads, or if the government designs the road signs terribly, the bicyclists are more likely to encounter the accidents, but they are not the ones to be blamed. The author should clarify why the rising number of bicycle-related accidents are caused by the bicyclists; otherwise it would be unclear why the government should focus on educating the bicyclists instead of improving the road signs to prevent accidents.

In addition, the author assumed that the amount of accidents is directly correlated to serious injuries, and this is a is poorly supported assumption. For example, by wearing the helments, the bicyclists are less likely to be severely injured or to be killed. If the causalties per accidents decrease after bicyclists start wearing helmets, the author's argument would be problematic in that it wrongly claimed that the helmets are not effective. The author should either focus on the casualties of the accidents instead of the number of accidents, or show that the aforementioned assumption, which is unlikely to be true, is correct.

Finally, by recommending that the government should focus less on requiring the bicyclists to wear helmets, the author assumed that the bicyclists would not stop wearing helmets even if the government no longer requires it. This assumption may be erroneous. If the bicylists stop wearing helmets, the bicycle-related accidents are more likely to cause casualties, which is exactly the opposite of what the author tried to achieve.

To conclude, the author should clarify the assumptions above to strengthen the arguments.