Governments should offer college and university education free of charge to all students.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Some people argue that higher education, especially universities and colleges, should be free to all students, and the government should pay for the expenses. While I acknolowdge the merit of this idea, some of which I will discuss in the article, I do not find this recommendation captivating.

First of all, by making the the students pay for the tuition, the students will be more willing to study hard. I am not arguing that the tuitions should be very high to make the students study, but instead when the tuitions are waived, there may be some students treating the higher educations like free lunches falling off from the sky and do not appreciate their importances. I acknowledge that some students churish free educations, so I would argue that if most students do not appreciate free educations, which I believe is the case in my home country, the universities and the colleges should not be free.

Moreover, if the schools earn their fundings partially from the students, they have more incentives to improve their teaching qualities and infrastuctures. In fact, as a student who is deciding which school to attend, I, as well as many of my classmates, often take the teaching quality, especially the teacher-student ratios, and the tuition into consideration, and there are some schools we consider too expensive given the terrible teacher-student ratios. Therefore, if it is the case that the school would be enticed to improve their qualities in order to obtain students' tuitions, the universities and the colleges should not be free.

Some would argue that higher educations are benefitial to the youth in this era, so the higher education should be free. Although there are indeed many advantages of gaining better trainings and diplomas, one should also recognize that not everyone needs higher educations. There are some jobs that do not require higher educations' training, let alone degrees. For example, in my home country, plumbers are trained in vocational schools or learn directly from the practitioners. The college degrees are useless for them. Moreover, even if higher educations are so important such that we should relieve some burdens on the potential students, it's unclear why the educations should be completely free and the government should pay for it.

Others may also argue free higher educations help solve economical and social inequality by letting more minorities to get better educations. I do find this argument compelling. There are many minorities and economically disadvantaged youth cannot get good-quality higher educations due to the high tuitions. While free universities and colleges can solve the issue, it does not imply that this is the only solution or the best solution. The government may offer scholarships to these students instead of paying for all students. If there are some other ways to improve offer low cost educations to the disadvantaged, there is no need for free colleges and universities.

In conclusion, I argue that universities and colleges should not be free. While there are some advantages of providing free higher edcuations, some other methods without falling into the aforementioned problems also exist. Therefore, universities and colleges should not be free.