The following appeared as an editorial in the student newspaper of Groveton College.

"To combat the recently reported dramatic rise in cheating among college students, colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced an old-fashioned system in which teachers closely monitored students. Under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. The honor code has proven far more successful: in the first year it was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey conducted by the Groveton honor council, a majority of students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The arguer claimed that since after Groveton College adopted the honor code, cheating among students became less prevalent and students reported that they were less liekly to cheat. Given this great experience, all colleges and universities should adopt the honor code to mitigate cheating. To make this argument more compelling, some evidences need to be looked more closely.

First of all, the arguer claimed that the number of reported cheating cases dropped from more than 30 to 14. While the number of cases dropped, it is not clear if the ratio of dishonest student also decreased. If the enrolled students has been declining for the past five years, it is not surprising that the number of the cases of cheating dropped. Therefore, the evidence of decreasing ratio of cheating should be provided instead of the number of reported cases. A decreasing ratio would strengthen the argument, indicating that honor code may help showing that the honor code prevented students from cheating.

Moreover, the arguer also mentioned that the honor code replaced the closely manual monitor. It may indicate that the probability of cheating without been detected increase. That is, the dishonest students still cheated but not been caught due to the lack of close monitor, rendering the declination in reported cases of cheating. To strengthen the argument, the evidence that the probability of cheating been caught remain the same.

The arguer also refer to a survey showing that students are less likely to cheat. It worth noting that people tends to conform to the social norms when answering the survey, especially when the survey is not conducted anonymously. After all, few students would honestly report that they want to cheat if their identies were not protected. The aruger should mention how the survey was conducted. If the survey was conducted correctly and anonymously, and the result of the survey was valid, this evidence may strengthen the arguments. Otherwise, the result of the survey was probably invalid and thus weaken the argument.

Finally, it worth questioning if the Groveton College's case is universal. It may be the case that the Groveton College is a religious school and most students have higher moral standard, or the Groveton College is full of students that do not need to worry about graduating on time, so they have less incentive to cheat. To show that other schools adopting the honor code would generate the similar results, the arguer has to show that Groveton College is an average college that has no special properties that make the case particular.

To conclude, while adopting honor code may help reducing the chance of cheating, some evidences have to be provided to strengthen the arguments.