The following appeared as an editorial in the student newspaper of Groveton College To combat the recently reported dramatic rise in cheating among college and university students these institutions should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton s which

The student newspaper of Groveton College states that more universities should adopt their honor code system against cheating in exams. They argued that since the implementation of Groveton’s honor code, the number of reported affairs fell yearly. This argumentation is based on several assumptions, and one of them should prove unfounded; it would weaken the conclusion significantly.

The first and the most significant assumption the author made is that the students notify other students if they suspect one of their faculty members of cheating. We have no evidence to believe this claim. The students might organize themselves and agreed on not reporting other students and could cheat much easier. It would be challenging to evaluate if this is true or not. But as long we do not have information that Groveton’s honor code prevents students from cheating, we can not assess its conclusion correctly.

Further, this system can be dangerous and could lead to a lot of mistrust among the students. In the old-fashioned way, where the teacher tried to monitor the students, the teacher could handle the situation as he/she thinks is accurate. With Groveton’s system, the teacher just gets informed of students that might have somebody seen cheating. But, there is no proof of it, and therefore it is difficult to punish the student. We would need evidence that the students only report somebody if they are cheating, and we would have to be able to exclude potential reports of students because of personal reasons.

Finally, the argument is complicated to evaluate because we have some numbers that do not show reality. The drop in the reported cases of cheating could result, as I explained above, because of better coordination of the students. To evaluate this system, we would need the numbers of the people who cheated, not only the reported ones who have not been caught. This could maybe be done by cameras and an analyzation afterward. Then the resulting numbers of the old-fashioned way and of the Groveton’s honor code could be evaluated much better.

To conclude, although the Groveton’s honor code showed a decrease in reported cases of cheating, this does not mean that the numbers dropped. We would need evidence that the students did not coordinate with each other and, therefore, just agreed to notify cheating students. Further, we would need proof to believe that the reported students within the Groveton’s system really cheated, and finally, we would need the real, absolute numbers of cheating students.