The following appeared in a memorandum written by the vice president of Health Naturally a small but expanding chain of stores selling health food and other health related products Our previous experience has been that our stores are most profitable in ar

The vice president of Health Naturally states that they should open a new store in Plainsville. He based this recommendation on the experience that their stores are most profitable in areas where the residents care about healthy lives. In Plainsville, there is a high sell-in sports equipment, booked-out fitness classes in the local health club, and a school program that promotes regular exercise to schoolchildren. Therefore, the author comes to a conclusion to open a Health Naturally store in Plainsville. Although this recommendation might be a good idea, the conclusion relies on some assumption, which might significantly weaken the conclusion if proven wrong. Therefore, more information and evidence are necessary.

The first assumption that the full fitness classes in the local gym indicate a high demand for a healthy lifestyle might be reasonable but is not necessary. We need more information about the overall population of the city and the number of health clubs there. If we find out that there is just one health club in the town, we can’t conclude a high demand for a healthy lifestyle. This could indicate that just a tiny fraction of the Plainville inhabitants are interested in sports, but because there is just such a small supply, the classes are full. First, we need more evidence that a high amount of the population is interested in doing sports.

Second, the author concludes, out of the fact, that there are a lot of sales of running shoes and sports equipment, there has to be a high demand for healthy lives in Plainville. Also, here this conclusion might be wrong. It could be, that there are other factors involved with there are high sales in Plainville, for example, that Plainville has lower prices for sports equipment than its neighbors. We would need evidence that the sports stores in Plainville face the same conditions as their competition in the cities nearby. This fact would strengthen the argument.

Finally, the author states that due to the education program “Fitness for Life” the store in Plainville will receive many customers within the next generation. This might be true, but it isn't easy to draw this conclusion for the future. There might be some unexpected events that lower this profitable expectation of the author. Maybe there will be a new hype in the future. A healthy lifestyle is not that requested anymore from the people. Perhaps the new generation prefers to eat only natural, unprocessed food and is not interested in the assortment of Health Naturally. It could be dangerous to make a decision today based on a current trend. Therefore, this point includes uncertainty and should not be the only reason for opening a store in Plainville today.

To conclude, the recommendation of the author to open a store in Plainville might be a good idea. But the argumentation the author does might be problematic. To evaluate the proposal properly, we need more evidence for the success of the Health Naturally store. Therefore, we need more information about the statistics of Plainsville and its supply of sport possibilities, the comparability of the sport stores of Plainville to the neighbour’s cities, and possible future competition.