It is primarily in cities that a nation s cultural traditions are generated and preserved Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take In developing

The author claims that in cities a nation’s traditions is more generated and preserved. I do mostly agree with the authors’ statement. The cities contain more information about the history of an nation, through the museums and the architecture. Further, a higher concentration of the people live within the cities, which reflect the daily life of the people of a society. Still, some traditions might be seen much regularly and less biased in the country side, due to less immigration and a higher value of these traditions.

First, in the cities is a higher concentration of national traditions through the museum, public buildings and the general architecture. Those infrastructures are a good reflection of the culture of a country. If a foreign wants to learn something about the culture of a nation, he will probably receive a more complete impression, if he visits the main cities of this nation, than when he visits the country side. National museums tell the story of the foundation of a nation and about its past. Also through restored national buildings, like the old library, the university or the market place, one might get an view into the traditions and history of a nation. Because the most of these buildings have been build, where today the big cities are, are the cities a good place to look at, if you want to learn something about a nation’s traditions.

Further, in the cities there are living most people of the society. Therefore, you might get the best impression about the mindset and the behaviour of an society through visiting cities. Also big festivals and traditional ceremonies are celebrated much more often within the cities. For example, Carnivals are in many cultures important traditions, which are celebrated in every country a little bit different. Although these carnivals are also celebrates in the country side of countries, it will be more representative for the entity of a society, if you attend such a festival within a city. On the country side, these festivals include often a more regional touch and do stand more for the region than for the whole society of a nation.

There are also some situations, where the country side show a more original picture of a nations’ traditions. Like explained before are also festivals hold in smaller communities, which may should a more accurate picture of a nation. Further, through the many people that move into the big cities, some original traditions might get lost. Cities become more and more multicultural and therefore the cultures mix up. In the country side, there is less immigration, where maybe some traditions are remaining much longer than in the cities.

In essence, if you want to learn something about a nation, you should rather visit the big cities. Through the national museums, the architecture and the national celebrations within a city, one might receive an impression, how this society developed and lives nowadays. Still, there are some traditions, which will be celebrated more in the country side of a nation, where they have less influence of immigration and therefore some traditions might have a higher value to them.