The following appeared as an editorial in the student newspaper of Groveton College.

"To combat the recently reported dramatic rise in cheating among college students, colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced an old-fashioned system in which teachers closely monitored students. Under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. The honor code has proven far more successful: in the first year it was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey conducted by the Groveton honor council, a majority of students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Groveton College's newspaper states that their system is better than the traditional one to prevent cheating. By doing so, it brings as evidence the fact that students reports of cheating are becoming lesser and lesser after every year and since the adoption of the honour code they have been less than the teacher's ones. This evidence, however is not enough to strengthen the first assumption, mainly because it lacks a comparison between the two systems.

Students reports can be less because they could deliberatedly decide not to follow the honor code and thus not report others cheating. In fact having less reports doesn't automatically mean less cheating. Teachers could have reported more cases because they were paying closer attention. Furthermore, the number of students' reports becomes smaller after every year, but it's not clear if this is because of the reduction of cheating, or just students agreeing on not reporting each other.

That's because of that a good evidence to support the first claim could be a transition period where students follow the honor code and there is also an additional way to check if they're cheating. It could be teachers using che traditional system, or a more technological way to check. This can make the two numbers of reports comparable and thus strengthen or weaken the newspaper's assumption.

Moreover, a survey is brought as evidence that this system works, but it is not useful since as i said before students could have agreed on not following the honor code and then they could lie at surveys in order to keep this system that advantages them.