The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“ Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news

and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints

received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news.

In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just

canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the

program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time

devoted to weather and local news to its former level. ”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the

argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument

This statement says that returning to a former situation could restore revenues and viewers, and in doing so, puts forward a reasoning that in some parts presents solid evidence of how this might solve the problem.

At the beginning, it is reasonable to assume that the majority, if not the totality, of the complaints about the absence of local news were, indeed, locals, but what is missing is a report of the numbers of views and frequent viewers that could highlight the problem more clearly. In fact, another phenomenon that occurs is the canceling of advertising contracts with local businesses, but it is not clear whether this has to do with locals' complaints and the consecutive reduction of local viewers or has other reasons, such as a shift of local businesses on different and more efficient forms of advertising, like social networks. In this last case that could be a spread problem that not only affects contracts with local businesses.

Moreover, the focus of the reasoning, where it is stated that returning to former conditions should attract more viewers and businesses, has not sufficient evidence to support itself. On the countrary, it seems like it lacks a logical connection from what is stated before it.

There should be conducted a study where it is analized the number of local potential viewers and the number of national potential viewers. It is quite logical to assume that there are probably more national viewers that can be attracted than local viewers, but this study can state it with more precision. If this study highlights that the probability of attracting more national viewers than local ones is high, the whole argument that business manager makes weakens. The importance of attracting more viewers is fundamental, therefore focusing on national news can attract more people according to these possible results of that hypothetical study. Losing revenues from local businesses could be initially problematic, but given these assumptions, attracting national businesses with more financial capabilities can raise the revenues to a better situation than the former one.

Hence, it is not clear what could link the restored former conditions to a better financial situation of the television station, but if some evidence is obtained about that connection, it is likely to dismantle the whole reasoning.