In many countries today there are many highly qualified graduates without employment.

What factors may have caused this situation and what, in your opinion, can/should be done about it?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

Nowadays there are many countries in the world in which highly qualified graduates do not find employment or find an job for which they are overspecialized. This happens in rich and developed countries as well, such as Italy. It has been a well-known issue there for decades.

This problem, though, has yet to be solved there and also in many other countries. A possible plan for decreasing its impact might be a statal action focused on investments on the post-education phase of a graduate and research, the latter being a strategic sector that experiences the same struggle.

First of all, a plan like this aims to reducing the discrepancy between the number of graduated people and the job requests from companies, industries and research businesses. That difference has to decrease in order to start weakening that issue. Another important aspect to take into account is the fact that many companies , in countries with this problem, tend to be less competitive and innovative, resulting in an environment where there is little need for highly specialized people, such as graduates. As an example, there are plenty of cases in Italy where people with scientific Master's degrees work in places where a simple high school diploma is necessary. Moreover, Their salaries are not that higher than unspecialised staff.

This leads to another important side of the main issue, which is the little paychecks graduated people often get in countries where this important problem persists. It is hence necessary a statal incentive on industries to pay their graduates more.

In conclusion, we can say that it is extremely important to have statal incentives and investments on industry and research. This is a key passage to see a solution for this issue.