The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The art of leading a group of people, whether it is small like a little office or big like a whole country, has always been a very demanding job. There are many different approaches on how to prepare young people to be good leaders in the future, but the one that works the best is surely the approach that instill and values a sense of cooperation between them. Competition has its positives sides of course, but its negatives outweigh the pros by too much.

First of all, making people cooperate gives them a sense of responsibility that competition lacks in instilling them. People that grow cooperating with their colleagues or friends are more likely to accept a leading role with responsibility. This has to do with the fact that they did not win a competition, they instead got to this position with the help of other people among them. The leader of a country should not feel he won the competition that makes him able to act without responsibility since he or she did not need the help of anybody. He or she should be proud of them and also of the people that made them to reach their position.

Having confidence with a cooperative ambient also gives people the ability to listen to others' opinions without feeling the need to prevaricate them with theirs. A chief of a business should be open to his or her colleagues' opinions if he or she wants to minimize the possibility of making errors that could damage the company, so listening to others is very important in these roles.

Another important aspect of cooperation is the fact that it guarantees that people in charge gets helped by others, since while they do not see others as enemies, also people around them are prone to do so. This whole process guarantees that leaders get more help from their colleagues. That is of vital importance for some countries' leaders who need to get advises from people with knowledge about strategic topics that they, as leaders, lack.

Someone could argue that competition is a stimulus for the spark of better people and ideas, but, as i said before, there are many downsides of this approach. A leader that knows only competition will not be able to listen to other people's opinions and will get less help in change. Leaders brought up with competition will not have the responsibility that only a cooperative ambient can give, thus making them prone to act in inappropriate ways that can damage the organization they are managing.