The following appeared in a memorandum from the mayor of Wistfold.

“A recent study revealed that the number of children requiring medical attention for

illnesses in our town is 40 percent higher than in the neighboring town of Champsfield.

Last year the Champsfield school district implemented an educational program called

“Kerzac Plus” that promotes healthier habits among children. Because prepackaged

convenience foods have less nutritional value than fresh fruits and vegetables, Kerzac Plus

guidance led to banning the sale of candy bars and soft drinks in Champsfield schools.

Kerzac Plus also provides informational posters and live presentations for children that

explain the importance of healthy foods and exercise, as well as the risks of making

unhealthy lifestyle choices. The clearest explanation for the lower medical needs of

Champsfield’s children compared withWistfold’s is the introduction of the Kerzac Plus

program to promote student health.”

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could

rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account

for the facts presented in the argument.

In this argument, the major of Wistfold states that, in order to reduce the number of ill children, the "Kerzac Plus" program should be implemented. This recommendation comes from the assumption that illnesses come from the malnutrition of Wistfold children and a viable solution could be achieved by establishing that program.

While there is no shade of doubt that a program like that is extremely helpful to teach children healthy habits, there is no evidence presented that links the more illnesses to a bad nutritional behaviour. Other possible explanations coul be a problem with the water delivering system of the city, or there could be a bad air quality in the very-near surroundings of the schools. Moreover, having more infrastructures and school time for physical activity can be another explanation for the reduced number of illnesses Chamsfield has.

The former explanation could have to do with the system of water delivery of the whole city, or even with just the pipes of the schools which might be old and make the water not drinkable. The first option would result in a general increase of illnesses among the whole population, so it is more reasonable to assume that the problem is close to the schools area, or that affects only the section that delivers water to that area indeed. If this is the problem, the source could be from contaminations coming from nearby buildings whose dirty waters mix with school pipes, thus making every program promoting food and health education not useful to solve the root cause. A child can do his or her best to live a healthy life, but if the water he or she drinks is contaminated, there's nothing that he or she can do to avoid getting ill.

Another possible explanation could come from the bad air quality of the immediate surroundings of the schools, maybe caused by polluted air coming from an industrial zone that, due to the conformation of the territory, gets directed towards the school area. This is another example of how having a good lifestyle is not enough in order to avoid getting ill, since this is a factor a child is not able to control.

The last possible explanation could be about the lack of structures devoted to physical activity in the Wistfold city, thus reducing the opportunities and the time a child can use to improve his or her health. A program that devotes more time in improving the food quality and in teaching children the importance of excercise is not enough, since the absence of infrastructures can lead to an overall inefficiency of the program itself thus not solving the main problem. It is also important to note that this alternative explanation assumes that the root cause is the children's beahiours, as the mayor's argument does, but that there are other factors that prevent the mayor's solution from being effective.

In conclusion, the little informations about the causes of illnesses give space to a variety of alternative explanations that do and do not take into account the food and exercise program. It is then clear that more investigations have to be done in order to identify the root cause of the problem.