The following appeared in an e-mail sent by the marketing director of the Classical Shakespeare Theatre of Bardville.

Over the past ten years, there has been a 20 percent decline in the size of the average audience at Classical Shakespeare Theatre productions. In spite of increased advertising, we are attracting fewer and fewer people to our shows, causing our profits to decrease significantly. We must take action to attract new audience members. The best way to do so is by instituting a 'Shakespeare in the Park' program this summer. Two years ago the nearby Avon Repertory Company started a 'Free Plays in the Park' program, and its profits have increased 10 percent since then. Therefore, I recommend that we start a 'Shakespeare in the Park' program of our own. If we do so, I predict that our profits will also see a significant increase.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In this argument, the marketing director explains how the best way to increase the average audience and profits is to institute a Shakespeare in the Park programme on that summer. In doing so, he brings as evidence a similar event organized by the Avon Repertory Company that has been followed by increasing profits.

However, it is not clear how the event organized by the nearby company has led to an increase in that company profits. The cause for that increase in revenues could have been a change in prices of their plays, such as a raise that would have made frequent viewers to continue attending shows while paying more. Since there is no mention about a difference in the average audience of the Avon Repertory company, they could instead have lowered prices in order to be more competitive and attract more people, maybe with the help of the 'Free Plays in the Park' program that publicized this change in prices. It is hence necessary asking ourselves if the change in that company's profits had to do only with their special program. And the possible answers already shown demonstrate how the assumption the director makes is not validated by enough evidence and could thus not lead to the predicted result.

Another important question that needs to be answered is about the attendance of the 'Free plays in the park' program, because it is not clear if it has increased the popularity of the nearby company or not. It could have been a failure in terms of advertisement and the profits could have come from other forms of publicity. They could have organized other special activities in order to attract more people.

Moreover, what is important to know about an event of that magnitude is its cost. It should be helpful to know how much it has costed to Avon Repertory to organize and hold their event. If it shows to be quite costly, other options should be considered in order to advertise the Theatre more efficiently. Whereas, if it results in a cheap option, that question would be very helpful in evaluating and comparing other proposals to this director's recommendation.

Finally, the best time for that event is assumed to be on summer, but we do not know when the nearby Company has held its own event. If their event has been successful and attracted more people, organizing that Shakespeare program on the sape period could be a valid option.

We can conclude that it is important for the director to know when the nearby company did their event, if it costed too much, if it had been a good attendance, and, the more important one, if they implemented other initiatives or changed their prices in order to get more profits.