A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

In a world where a capitalistic-driven globalization shapes our nowadays society, with all of its positive and negative effects, this statement focuses on a particular aspect of our life: people's judgement of a person's worth and the change in values that is happening.

By analyzing it, I agree with the fact that this is an issue becoming more and more evident in our timeframe, however I do not think that this shift in values of our society also affects people who are close to us. In this close environment, these so-called old-fashioned values are still considered important for judging a person's worth.

Society puts value on a person's success, it does not emphasize his or her positive attributes or ethic values that may be felt as important. These are the building blocks that drive their life and their real relations with other people, but these values tend to receive little to no attention when we are thinking of the meaning of success.

It is also important to note that we, as humans, like to accumulate things, a primitive behaviour which has been exploited by capitalism. It is hence clear that because we live in such a system, we are almost geared to think that the more material possessions a person has, the more happiness that same person has to experience.

In this picture, things like kindness, trust, and emphaty do not lead to reaching these so-called goals we are prompted to achieve. They may, on the countrary, be a burden that prevents us from reaching these goals.

In conclusion, we can confidently say that this shift in values our society is experiencing is real in the big picture, but tends to lose appeal in close environments such as friends or family. We are driven to think that a person's worth is made of its success or material possessions but this, in the end, may not be the best approach we could have for living in a overall happier society.