Some people believe that it is helpful to view a challenging situation as an opportunity for

personal growth. Others believe that reimagining challenging situations this way occupies

too much of the focus one needs to face challenges effectively.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own

position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and

supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

During our lives we are constantly exposed to challenges and what makes a difference in improving or not ourselves is the approach we take for facing them. Seeing a challenging situation as an opportunity, whether it is for personal growth or for other aspects, is indeed the best way to face it and does not occupy too much the concentration a person needs in order to overcome it.

Just by considering the only aspect of improving ourselves, it is clear and of common knowledge that staying into the comfort zone does not improve a person's skills and does not produce a personal growth. Because of that, seeking to exit our comfort zone is mandatory if we want to increase our level on aspects of life that we do not like. This behaviour of seeking new and unpredictable things can prepare us to face any challenge we might encounter, thus increasing our possibilities of accomplishing the needed results.

Viewing a challenging situation as an opportunity is also extremely important for our motivation. If someone has no particular purpose to succeed in difficult activities and tries to do them just by focusing on their task, it is less likely for that person to achieve a good result. That person could instead give up at some point, due to the lack of a purpose. This especially happens when a challenge is spread in a long period of time, where special focus is needed and that focus mainly comes from motivation and determination.

Talking about what happens after a challenge has been overcomed, we can imagine how different approaches in facing it lead to different outcomes. A person that sees a purpose of personal growth in that situation is prone to be more satisfied and happy when the results have been achieved. Someone who does not have purpose in facing a challenge does not feel rewarded after what had to be done has been accompllished. That person is likely to feel as if that annoying event is finally gone, with nothing but stress in their veins. People with this approach are less likely to feel gratitude and satisfaction, thus conducting themselves in a more depressing life.

We can conclude by saying that an approach that sees purpose in facing challenging situations is indeed the best option for living a better life, with very little, when noticeable, negative effects. The improvement the person accomplishing the challenge feels, the motivation that pushes that person forward and the gratitude that comes at the end are all positive aspects of this approach, whereas someone who takes an approach without this purpose in mind does not benefit from all of these.