The vice president for human resources at Climpson Industries sent the following recommendation to the company's president.

" In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their workstations. Employees who use the Internet inappropriately from their workstations need to be identified and punished if we are to reduce the number of work hours spent on personal or recreational activities, such as shopping or playing games. Installing software on company computers to detect employees' Internet use is the best way to prevent employees from wasting time on the job. It will foster a better work ethic at Climpson and improve our overall profits. "

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

A solution for the problem that the vice president for human resources highlights seems a possible logical way to solve it, but there are some points in the whole reasoning that are not clear and need more evidence in order to know if this is a viable solution.

In the first assumption it is stated that it is important to identify and punish employees who spend work hours on personal activities in order to increase the total number of hours actually spent on working. This passage is logically reasonable and a good starting point to identify the solution of that problem, but it also mentions the punishment which could not be an effective way of building a good relationship between workers and managers. Workers might get upset at this practice of constant control and punishment, so this might turn them against company managers thus reducing their will to put effort into their job and consequently lower the profits.

In that passage is also assumed that an electronic monitoring strategy prevents employees to waste time on their pc's, but it doesn't take into account that there are other sources of distraction except for their pc. Actually, they could do so with their personal mobile phones or by exploiting some fallacy in the software, maybe incentivised by a newly established bad relationship with their managers, thus making the point of the improvement of work ethic and efficiency weaker and weaker.

Something that is not considered in the manager's reasoning is the fact that employees are humans, and they work as humans, so there should be a research in the field of studies that analyze how the absence of distractions affects workers efficiency. An employee with the opportunity to take some breaks between work shifts might be happier and less stressed, therefore he or she could put more effort in his or her job, whereas, a tired worker with little time to distract himself or herself could be less efficient.

In conclusion we can say that more evidence is needed in order to support the vice president's reasoning and that other aspects have to be taken into account in order to fully understand if this practice is good to increase the company profits or the work ethic.