The most effective way to understand contemporary culture is to analyze the trends of its youth.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Understanding contemporary culture has never been an easy task to accomplish, since it has very different aspects to take into account. One way of trying to understand it might be by analyzing youth's trends, but that is not enough in order to get a complete depiction of the culture on a particular period of time. Analyze youth's trends is indeed very important, but also compare them to older generation's is essential to have a full picture of the culture of a partiular society.

What young commonly prefer to do is what carachterizes their generation. It is very useful to understand the evolution of contemporary culture, but it is not enough for studying how a society is now, in this moment of time. For example, young people of the 21st century have a new and unprecedent sensibility towards the imminent climate crisis and the human rights that are still missing in our society. It is something that shapes our culture now, of course. However, it is in some decades that it will be the main influence of the current society, so it is mainly useful to track how a culture will evolve and alone is not sufficient to analyze it in the present.

What is also important to note is the fact that youth's trends are also shaped by adults', whether they conform to or harshly clash with them. As the example above suggest, it is common to see nowadays that these new sensibilities of the younger generations do not get on well with the older ones. There is always discussion between these topics of climate and human rights, so it is important to take older generations' values and trends in order to get a full depiction of how multiple groups push to prevaricate others. There is not only clash between trends, though. Just thinking about rock music, it is clear that young generations often take something of the older one. It can actually be some genres of music that were particularly inspiring, so this example of rock music shows how the younger generations wants to introduce into thei trends something that shaped the older generation. Nowadays the main genres are rap and alternative indie music, but no one disregards rock music, especially its well-known classic songs.

Throught this reasoning it has been plain to sight that contemporary culture cannot be understood only by looking for youths' trends, but all generation's trends should be taken into account. It is a common example the one with social networks, where instagram or tiktok are mainly used by young people, whereas facebook and twitter are preferred by older people. A full depiction of society cannot thus be achieved without al of the trends of its generations.