The following appeared as an editorial in the student newspaper of Groveton College.

"To combat the recently reported dramatic rise in cheating among college students, colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced an old-fashioned system in which teachers closely monitored students. Under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. The honor code has proven far more successful: in the first year it was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey conducted by the Groveton honor council, a majority of students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the article makes a valid argument, one that would be correct if its premises were true. However, the conclusion relies on three unsubstantiated assumptions for which there are no clear evidence.

First, the author assumes that students in Groveton College are trustworthy all the time. With the help of the new system established at the college, students are expected to report cheating situations once they witness. As much as one sees from the article, there is no obligation for students to report such incidents. What if a student sees one of his friends cheating and does not let the administration know that? Is there a sanction for this particular student? In addition, why would he take initiative and contact the faculty, and put himself into trouble while he can easily take his exam and act as if nothing happened. Moreover, is a student expected to take care of his exam or watch the class to catch someone cheating all the time? As seen, the assumption is invalid as a student will easily evade a rife with her or his classmates.

Secondly, taking what students tell during the surveys at face value may be misleading. According to the memo, the results of the survey realised by the Groveton honor council shew that students trusted new system and stressed that they would be less likely to cheat with the new code in force. It may be quite possible that, since students found new system easier to handle and transgress they wanted it to be utilized for good. Maybe the students established such a web that every student can get the correct answers without effort. For example, has the council made any investigation about the grades of the students after the honor code? Is there an unexplainable increase in the grades or not? What the council should have done was in fact to closely monitor exams and get the ideas of faculty member regarding the applicability of the system.

Thirdly, the writer of the article presumes that decrease in the number of reported cases is a good sign for the evaluation of the honor code. It may be just the opposite. Maybe there are actually students who wish to report cheating cases but, since teachers are not closely watching students, some of the leaders in the class created a kind of gang hindering the actions of such students. Maybe they are threatening them, maybe they are distracting them to get low grades during the exams. Under this circumstances, the effect of teachers' control on the process should not be sidelined. There must some elders in control of the young so that they will be aware of the fact that if something wrong is done, there is someone to intervene. Hence, the conclusion of the writer seems unsound.

Overall, the article leaves too many questions unanswered which hinders the reliability of the article and make it more questionable.