It is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Change in virtually every society around the world is occurring at almost lightning speed. What has not changed is the significance of exceptional men and women who are called heroes. The prompt iterates that it is not possible to acclaim living people as heroes anymore, which is a conclusion I mostly agree with, while I concede that there are also people who deserve to be called heroes.

First, the adjective hero is such an immense burden on the shoulders of the relevant people that many can't carry it successfully enough to be able to called a hero when they approach their later years of lives. Because as it is once said, power is like a venom, and if not used properly that venom will consume its owner. There are many politicians in different democratic societies who came out as saviors with the votes of the people and in the end, they turned out to be tyrants who can't even tolerate a moderate opposition. The prime reason under this phenomenon is the fickle characteristic of people in general. Once they are loved and given the chance to control power, they lose their temper and suppose themselves as an infallible rulers. In this sense, exploitation of the politicians and key figures of power makes people disappoint people and thus, they refrain calling people as heroes.

Secondly, it is difficult to judge people in short notices and give them what they deserve. Maybe a person carries the basic requirements of being a hero, but it is hard to show resilience lifetime. Hence, such important compliments should not be given in a hasty manner. People should not only show the necessary courage to be a hero but also the endurance and stamina to prove that they deserve to be heroes. People should not acclaim important people readily. It is quite right that world need heroes, but it is also a fact that many undesirable consequences came out from unworthy hands of people who are praised by the societies, and it is always late to recant once they are carrying the title of hero. For example, once Hitler was a product of a functioning democracy. But people gave them something which he didn't deserve at all, and the results are obvious. He had to be warned when it was necessary to correct himself, and his ideas, but what happened as a consequence of his brazen actions was a result of undeserved title he was given. As seen, it is important to give people what they deserve in an appropriate time.

On the other hand, I concede that there are living heroes among people, and they deserve to be called such. Teachers, engineers, politicians, etc., who work for the well being of a society all deserve to be called heroes, since, the mission they shoulder is a unique one which people need the most in this troublesome periods. People should identify them well and treat them as heroes of societies for they aim to build a better future for us and our children. All in all, I mostly agree with the prompt stating that it is impossible to regard living people as heroes, since it is difficult to carry this title and it is tough to judge people in a short period of time to be able to give them a strong title as hero.