The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument that the decrease in the number of viewers of Super Screen-produced movies past year will be offset with an increase in the budget relocated for advertisement may seem tenable at the first glance. The author makes a valid argument, one that would be correct if its premises were true. However, the conclusion in the memo relies on assumptions for which there are no clear evidence.

Firstly, the writing assumes that one year decrease in the number of viewers is an obvious determinant of the general perception of the people about the Super Screen-produced movies. To be able to draw such a sharp conclusion one must have thorough examination of the situation. In addition, this cannot be a decision based on solely on one year. The important element in this situation should be the general trend regarding the favorability of the said company’s movies. What was the attendance like last 5 years? Is there a continuous decline for a couple of years? These questions must be answered to handle the problem. Maybe there is another movie company in town and they sell their products in a price that people do not hesitate to watch them instead of others. Maybe people are spending their time at home and utilizing streaming web sites in stead of conventional movie theaters. These are all exigent matters that must be answered intricately.

Secondly, the memo cites the results of a survey that puts forward that people who watched movies have positive feelings about the movies. However, unless the survey is fully representative, valid and reliable, it cannot be used to effectively back the writer’s argument. Taking what viewers say in the survey at face value can be misleading. While the correlations stated are logical and probable there may be other factors affecting the feelings of the movie watchers. May be this year the theme of the movies was about the protection of the public recreation parks and although people did not like the movies, since they were supporting the idea, they cast their vote as positive. We can never know that. It is not the survey that can decide whether a movie is a successful one or not. Did anyone one of these movies receive any award? Were they successful enough to attend international shows? Did any celebrity director or producer say anything laudable about these movies? Are there any critics written about them? After these questions are answered, then we can get a clear idea about the quality of the movies.

Thirdly, the author assumes that people are unaware of the quality level of the movies. Here, the author has no clear evidence on that and he or she takes a wild guess. How can people be blamed of unawareness or ignorance? In such an important decision making process for the company, that would not be a clever way to approach the problem. If a company is planning to invest lots of money on an advertisement project, the logic should be cogent and applicable. We are living in an era of information. There are many information channels in the use of people when needed. Maybe people have so enough information that they did not like this year’s movies. Maybe the company was unsuccessful when choosing the genres this year. Maybe they did not address people’s tastes. Instead of construing the situation in such a subtle way, the firm should focus on the quality understanding of people in spite of their choices.

In conclusion, for the reasons mentioned above, even if the budget of the advertisement is decided to be increased, the author’s arguments is not likely to significantly persuade the decision takers to allocate increased budget, since there are not enough pieces of evidence let alone strong ones.